RSS

My Plate

08 Jun

In honor of the USDA’s MyPlate, I’ve been thinking a lot about my life Pre-Blue Sky, before our choice to make this lifestyle change.

Come with me down Memory Lane.  Step over the empty take out containers, and the empty chip bags.  look out for the melted ice cream puddle, and … well… you get the idea.  Back to the land of “Ugh!” as I like to call it.

In the not to far distant past, my plate looked like this

or… on a lay-around-the-house day, my meal plan looked a little more like this…

In fact, if I were to be honest, there were days that breakfast looked like picture number one, and picture number 2 was a mid morning snack.  Looking back at those days, I get stomach sick just thinking about the foods that went into my body.

Have you ever opened the fridge and immediately known something in there had gone bad?  That stench is unmistakable.  And yet, how many times do you sniff? If you’re like me, you call your husband over and say “Something in there stinks!! Honey!! Smell this!!”  So, although it makes me ill thinking about it, I want to take you out to eat… the way I ate… about 3 months ago.

Breakfast:
Nothing
Mid Morning snack:
a BIG back of chips ( +1,200 Cal)
Lunch:
Nothing
Dinner:
Big Mac (540 Cal)
Large Fries (500 Cal)
and (of course) a Diet Coke
Late Night Snack:
2 McDoubles (390 x 2)
20 Nuggets (460 x 2)
Late Late Night snack:
Cold Stone Creamery Birthday Cake Ice Cream – Love it Size (which consists of…)
Cake Batter Ice Cream (980)
Sprinkles (25)
Brownies (180)
Fudge (110)
and… I like to add Gummy Bears (120)

Now for more of that math…
That is a total of  5,355 Calories… on an AVERAGE day.

Since we’ve started Blue Sky, let me give you an example of a daily menu.

Breakfast:
Carbmaster Yogurt (60 Cal)
Morning Snack:
Reduced Fat String Cheese – (60 Cal)
Lunch:
1 Cup of  Romaine Lettuce (8 Cal)
Vinigar as dressing ( 0 Cal)
Mid afternoon snack:
3 Oz Carrots (38 Cal)
Laughing Cow Cheese (35 Cal)
Dinner:
5 Oz BBQ Chicken (175 Cal)
1 Cup Romaine Lettuce (8 Cal)
Bed time Snack:
1 Sugar free Fat free creamsicle (20 Cal)

THAT is a total of  404 Calories! Less then 10% of what we were eating!  And that makes my plate a beautiful sight!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My Plate

  1. Heather

    June 14, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    I am so glad I found your blog through Blue Sky MD on Facebook. I started Blue sky on the 1st of this month so far I'm down 11 pounds tomorrow will be my second weigh in. I have always been a "big" girl but the past few years that "big" girl has got bigger. I am young and should not be carring this weight around. Your blogs have been very encouraging! Its always helpful to see someone else having great results at the samething you are doing. You are doing great! I am so excited to see where the Blue sky weight loss program takes all of us!!

     
  2. Mrs. Former

    June 17, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I'm glad you find it helpful. Sometimes I think the rambling has replaced the eating :)Good job on the first week, it's the killer!!

     

What do YOU think?

 
