RSS

Mothers Day Lessons

13 May

My Mother taught me LOGIC…”If you fall off that swing and break your neck, you can’t go to the store with me.”

Child the I, II and III in various stages of causing us heart failure.

My Mother taught me MEDICINE…”If you don’t stop crossing your eyes, they’re going to freeze that way.”

The Boys enjoying a 4D movie at the Atlanta Aquarium

My Mother taught me TO THINK AHEAD…”If you don’t pass your spelling test, you’ll never get a good job!”

Child the I taking the Chocolate Test at Hershey University

My Mother taught me ESP…”Put your sweater on; don’t you think that I know when you’re cold?”

Mom, My Bro and I in Mission British Columbia, the first place I remember calling home.

My Mother taught me TO MEET A CHALLENGE…”What were you thinking? Answer me when I talk to you…Don’t talk back to me!”

Child the III, what WERE you thinking?

My Mother taught me HUMOR…”When that lawn mower cuts off your toes, don’t come running to me.”

The first of many leg incidents for Daddy.

My Mother taught me how to BECOME AN ADULT…”If you don’t eat your vegetables, you’ll never grow up.

Child the III and mom planting a veggie garden

My mother taught me ABOUT SEX…”How do you think you got here?”

I’m in there!!!

My mother taught me about GENETICS…”You are just like your father!”

Thankful I share MANY of my parents traits

My mother taught me about my ROOTS…”Do you think you were born in a barn?”

She’s come a long way since taking me to the county farm and almost throwing up in the cow pen 🙂

My mother taught me about the WISDOM of AGE…”When you get to be my age, you will understand.”

I am one year younger than my mom was when she had me. I’m pretty sure I’ve still got LOTS more to learn before I catch up to where she was at this point.

My mother taught me about ANTICIPATION…”Just wait until your father gets home.”

I am filled with anticipation for any trip home because of moments like these!

My mother taught me about RECEIVING…”You are going to get it when we get home.”

And, my all-time favorite – JUSTICE…”One day you’ll have kids, and I hope they turn out just like YOU — then you’ll see what it’s like.”

Child the I, II and III in Scotland this summer. I only hope to teach them even 1/2 of what my mom taught me

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

What do YOU think?

 
