RSS

The Month of my Birth

02 Sep

Some people say the only things that are certain are death and taxes, but they are forgetting one thing.  Birthdays.

It is the month of my birth.

It’s the inevitable time of year where I look back and think of what I’ve accomplished in the last year.  Where I sit in relation to the goals and dreams I had.  It is the time when I go a little crazy.

Last year I decided to take the optimistic approach.  The year before, I tried something similar.

I want to love my birthday.  I want to embrace it and all the great things it represents.  I’m one of those people who does the annoying Facebook countdown to my birthday.  I make a big deal about it before hand.  You’d think it was my favorite day of the whole year.  You’d think.

But truth be told, I make a big deal out of it because I’m scared if I didn’t, no one would remember.  That it would be halfway through the day before someone said “there’s something about today..” Or worse, that no one would.

Deep down I’m just a little girl who wants a tea party with her friends, pink lace tablecloths and finger sandwiches, or a surprise party filled with people I haven’t seen in years who wanted to see me and help me celebrate. I just want it to be a day I can look back on and smile about.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

What do YOU think?

 
